Task 1: Analyse a visual and interactive-based problem in creative media production.

To start off this assignment, I have several game ideas to start work on. The first I’d like to mention is a flight simulator made in Unreal using models from C4D and hopefully Maya. The reason for working with Maya is because it’s heavily used within the industry and practice with this software would be a benefit to my future career. The other idea is a port of a game called PowerPoint and click adventure game. This was a game made without original assets, in power point for ECDL. Work has already begun on this to import it into Unity using the Fungus scripting flow charts. Other ideas for future projects include a scavenger hunt using Arasuma augmented reality and a virtual reality flight simulator. Research continues on these as I learn more about working with the relevant software to produce interactive products.

For this assignment I would like to use the most recently worked game. PowerPoint and click adventure game. The requirements for this game are quite simple. From what I’ve seen of Fungus in Unity so far, I understand it’s not too different from trigger effects in power point. This gave me the idea to re-make the game as practice with Unity. Visually the assets are photographs and cartoons mixed. It’s “terrible” in design and looks more like an internet meme than anything with any real substance (Graphically). This aids in the humour of the game though as it’s quite light hearted and uses nostalgia to connect with the audience. Software used to update or improve the visuals for this game (Being 2D) will most likely be Illustrator and Photoshop.

The importance of this game is to connect with the player/audience with nostalgia and humorous visual and narrative-implied quips. As well as cleverly placed references and Easter eggs. This interactive experience will rely on the player to make choices that will either make or break them in the final moments of the game. This will be done by setting multiple IF statements to recognise if the player performed certain tasks. Determining if they get certain characters to join them in the end or not.

The requirements to complete this task will include Unity to act as the game engine and various plugins to help code it. I’ll need access to adobe illustrator (Mainly for the vector graphics as resizing may be needed.) for graphics and Photoshop for the photos (In case they need editing.). These are available to me at home. As for audio I’ll be using none copy written music as my main work including audio is focused on the 3D Flight simulator being made in unreal.

The brunt of the work is going to be with Unity. I haven’t got much experience with Unity or Fungus. Which is why I’m doing this game as I want the experience for future projects. Due to time constraints I feel this game took priority as I want to work on other things as well. Though I do aim to make improvements to the game. To demonstrate changes I can present both the original and Unity copies on word press for people to determine improvement or failure. Other skills required will be with Illustrator and Photoshop which I feel more confident working with, as well as my own initiative and planning skills to complete the game in due time. I would also like to test my drawing tablet with this too. Gaining more experience with hand drawn characters and animating them.

To make this game a success I feel that I need to keep to the core idea. It’s humorous but not offensive, a healthy mix of animation and photography. I feel that although many of the assets (Photography) are not my own, this could hinder me. Though the main idea for this game is for me to make something that people can enjoy and give me experience with Unity. Almost reminiscent of an old Flash game.

I feel that the biggest barrier for me when making this will be getting the final battle to work as planned. Tutorials and tutors can help with this and I expect that this game wont be as demanding as I expect. Though it is my first real game, I feel that my skills in research and problem solving are going to be key to this games success.

To finish off I’d like recommend looking at the game linked. It’s not perfect and has many bugs but it would help with my personal research if people can give me feedback with more detail. I look forward to presenting this final product soon.

Leave a comment